I pushed my Little ’96 Dodge Leisure Travel on narrow 2-lane highways and scenic bypasses – it doesn’t hold the road nearly as well as those big 4X4 trucks and SUVs and nowhere near as tight as the little sports cars, motorcycles and road gripping sedans, so why then do they try to cut me off, crowd the LT or want to race to the next cutoff? No not everyone does this but sometimes even though I religiously pull over to allow passing, there are foolish motorist who believe that they won’t fare badly scraping with a “big” little, old motorhome driven by a cantankerous gray-haired woman determined to enjoy the stunning panoply of trees, light and water over roads that would scare the dogs worse than the bear if the dogs had any sense of the road.

Not surprisingly I didn’t see a lot RVs on the cliff hugging coastal highways, the scenic mountain bypasses or the strange paths I sometimes choose to travel. I did see some, mostly little guys like me, but I did see a few big ones — I wondered if they’d realized what they were getting into and now it was too late to turn around. Wouldn’t be so bad except the condition of the roads, especially in CA is abysmal. Rough Rut Lane ahead for the next 300 miles: they should post that on the highway! Prepare to have doors and hinges fly open, bumping and grinding, gut wrenching banging and clanging and who know what sliding around. The dogs give me dirty looks, really it’s as slow as I can go!

So my new dream vehicle would be on of these: The First 4×4 Sprinter in North America? I notice it has a road master steering stabilizer on the front end. Here’s another look.

Still dreaming: A $122,000 Trakka Torino on the Fiat Ducato from Australia: . . . here’s their Sprinter version

Think how fun it’d be to say, Oh, I have a Jabiru!

Meanwhile here’s some shots from my travels after Southern Idaho and Central Oregon starting with Bend and the scenic route west from Sisters. . . next post the coast.

Crown Villa RV Park: Luxury with paving stones, a personal trash can, storage, lots of trees, a large dog park, a hot tub, game room, lush grass and a gorgeous shower room.

The dogs enjoying the paving stones

I don’t normally take pictures of dead birds but this little sweetheart dropped to its death directly behind me at the Old Mill shopping area in Bend, OR. There was nothing I could do but honor its life with a memory.

The walking path at the Old Mill District. Very dog friendly. Their doggy station says: Dog Rest Stop. . . Only You Can Prevent Dog Piles. . . . very cute with a drawing of a dog like a ranger holding a shovel.

Leaving Sisters Oregon via the 2-lane scenic byway the smoke from the fire begins to clear.

McKenzie Pass Highway and The Sea of Lava in beds of craters

McKenzie Pass: elevation 5325

Dee Wright Observatory panorama of the Cascade Mountains

