Porto Bodega Marina – Bodega Bay, CA

  • Simple gravel parking, lovely view of the Bodega Bay. Pay more to park directly on the Bay.
  • Clean pleasant restroom and showers but is a bit of a walk.
  • Wi-Fi provided in the meeting room near the office–a further walk.
  • Verizon signal and hotspot excellent.
  • Dog walking fair, range is restricted.
  • No access to shops or restaurants.
  • Would stay again for the view and ambient sounds.
  • $47 (including tax) Full season rates.

Silvers at the Wharf – Noyo Harbor, Fort Bragg CA (Restaurant)

  • Greatly enjoyed in spite of the thick fog and the cold night.
  • Dogs cheerfully allowed on the deck.
  • Service and food excellent.

Pomo RV Park Campground – Fort Bragg, CA

  • Woodsy and private (pretty)
  • Lots of room to walk dogs
  • Showers and bathroom clean but no windows and few amenities
  • This was the only location for this trip in which payment (quarters were required for the shower and as per usual shower cheated on time.)
  • Very bright spotlights at some parking spots – I had one of these huge lamp posts and had to use several block out curtains which was a shame since is was woodsy.
  • Paid $43 plus $1 for pet and tax, $47
  • If I stayed again would ask for spot away from bright light and request full hook-up (only $3.00 more.) My parking spot was private and quiet, there are many spaces which are shared.

North Coast Co-op – Aracata, CA (Food supplies)

  • Have stopped here many times. really appreciated back up rear view camera for getting out of crowded parking lot
  • Selection not as inclusive as I remember from the past, but a fun stop to stock up on natural foods
  • Farmer’s Market in town square but dogs not permitted.

Emerald Forrest of Trindad – Trindad CA

  • I’ve stayed here before but I didn’t remember. Much nicer than the other parks I saw in the area more like a state park in an area of redwoods.
  • I had a spot with partial hook ups and no nearby neighbors
  • Good walking for the dogs around the park
  • I did not get Escapee Club rates
  • Nice place, would stay again

Arimitage Park – Lane County near Eugene, OR

  • Excellent walking for dogs, very scenic. Included natural trails and large off-leash dog park
  • No showers or hot water
  • Lovely camp site but did have annoying “park” lights at each site attached to plug-in.
  • Quiet
  • $30, full hook ups

Barnacle Bistro – Gold Beach, OR (restaurant)

  • Picked up Fish (Alaskan Cod) and Chips (sweet potato)  and an Australian Root Beer to go…. was yummy
  • Didn’t see any pet friendly dinning area

Secret Camp RV Park – Gold Beach, OR

  • Like a summer camp
  • Dogs had opportunity to play ball off leash (relaxed friendly atmosphere)
  • Full hook ups and WI-fi
  • Clean free showers and bathroom
  • Quiet
  • Couldn’t walk dog very far in the woods because of stickers and brambles
  • Paid off season rates!
  • Driving necessary to get to town, ocean, etc.
  • Many folks staying monthly
  • $25

Port of Suslaw Campground and Marina – Florence, OR

  • This camp is definitely not for everyone but almost my favorite. wish I had stayed another day.
  • Simple, nothing fancy but well located.
  • Great walking for me and the dogs! Can walk around boats, the harbor with birds, sea lions and fishermen to the Old Town stores and restaurants and along the river.
  • My spot was private and quiet and had full hook-ups not all spots may be this way.
  • Typically there were spotlights but not as bad as some.
  • Nice tourist video:  http://www.portofsiuslaw.com/video.html
  • I think this was $26

Sisters Bakery – Sisters, OR

  • Delicious house made bear claw and muffin souffle vege lunch treat.
  • I was intending to overnight in Sisters except for the nearby fire….  I was weary of smoky air by this time.

Crown Villa RV Resort – Bend, OR

  • My favorite park of the trip even though I passed it by at first
  • 12 Acres, very pet friendly with good sized off leash dog run
  • Clean, lots of grassy areas for walking, a few trails, lots of trees
  • Beautiful bathrooms / showers and nice hottub
  • Was street traffic but died down at night
  • I took a street side location for a discount
  • Woodsy, personal site services
  • Car needed to get to town, etc.
  • Discount site $40

Caldwell Campground and RV Park – Caldwell, ID (near Boise, ID)

  • I was lucky, arrived on a Sunday and found a peaceful site open near the little lake, other sites were not as nice (crowded and little privacy)
  • Many long term campers with trailers
  • Fairly quiet until midnight, then a long parade of trucks drove past my parking spot….  lasted for 45 min. Lights shinning in my windows and noisy Not sure why they didn’t take the other road into camp.)
  • A bit rundown and unkempt but decent
  • Lots of cigarette butts and dog waste in spite of sign to pick up after your pet
  • Lake area was nice, fair walking. Had long trail but didn’t have time to try it.
  • Freeway / highway noise
  • Nothing interesting in the area
  • $25 (I think)

Best Western Plus Cotton Tree – Pocatello, ID

  • I will not stay here again
  • Uncomfortable and noisy
  • I enjoyed driving around the town and found a nice park for the dogs.
  • $85 plus tax, was given $5 refund for discomfort

Huckleberry AnnE’s, West Yellowstone, MT

  • It’s terrible, I can’t remember the name of the restaurant, but I think this might have been it. The patio was closed so the dogs had to wait in the LT.
  • The food was wonderful!

Signal Mountain Campground – Grand Tetons National Park, WY

  • Loved this campground – I had the best spot in the camp overlooking the lake
  • No showers, no hot water, no showers even at the lodge area
  • Main drawback was the smoke from the area fires. The smoke obscured the view completely. . . could not see the mountains
  • Other drawback was neighboring campers…  walked though my space and caused my dogs to bark (they could have walked around but were too lazy) and someone left their generator running.
  • Stayed two nights, could have easily and happily stayed longer.
  • $20.65 per night.

Dornan’s – Moose, WY ( food and hootenanny)

  • Camp chow, music and fun. . . darn they didn’t have salmon the night I was there.

Mangy Moose  –  Jackson Hole, WY (restaurant and bar)

  • Don’t bother eating here just look at the cute decor and go somewhere else.

Jackson Whole Grocer – Jackson, WY (grocery and natural foods)

  • Ate at their deli several times and stocked up on food supplies
  • Really enjoyed this store

Smiths – Jackson WY (grocery and supplies)

  • Pleasantly surprised to find lots of fresh organic produce and great selection of supermarket supplies.

Employees Parking – Grand Tetons National Park, WY

  • Boondocking….  I was given permission to stay here for some nights. This is not something one can normally expect; others should not plan on doing this. It was a great location for touring with my friend on his off hours from work at the Lodge.

Rendezvous at the South Fork – Swan Valley, ID

  • I think this was the place I stayed – it was a last min. find backtracking down the canyon. It was getting late and I was tired.
  • Park was okay.
  • Nice hot shower – it was getting cold outside
  • Right off the highway
  • Somewhat quiet…  someone rented the cabin right behind me and turned on the blazing outside light after I’d gone to sleep – it woke me and I sat there waiting and trying to block out the light….  finally had to knock on their door….  fellow immediately apologized and turned out the light.
  • Mediocre walking for the dogs because of stickers and highway on the other side
  • I was sick so appreciated that few others used the bathroom / showers… clean and lots of hot water.
  • Don’t remember what I paid. Prob would not stay again, but it was okay.

Jerome KOA – Jerome, ID

  • Normally I don’t care for KOA camps. .  . they can be very expensive and have too many smoky campfires. I was very lucky at this one not being able to find a place for the night. My Mom helped locate this (and many others)
  • My parking spot was off in the long-term section, nice and private away from the others who were all squished together and therefore quiet and peaceful.
  • Nothing to complain about – arrived late and exhausted, left fairly early.
  • Decent walking for the dogs.
  • $38

Sparks Marina RV – Sparks, NV

  • Nice walking across the street
  • Park was clean and quiet.
  • I used the pool and hot tub.
  • Very large park, when full it must be crazy.
  • Even being an off time I was the only “little guy” in the park.
  • Think I paid $33 with a discount

Private Boondocking

  • Had a nice opportunity to boondock outside someone’s home in a guest parking area.
  • Quiet and peaceful
  • Friend let me use their shower and made me a wonderful breakfast!
