A view from Stanley Park, Vancouver, Canada

A view from Stanley Park, Vancouver, Canada

A quick drive through Vancouver, Canada

A quick drive through Vancouver, Canada

I doubt I can do justice to the beauty of my trip. Things did not go as planned and I did not travel to Alaska. I actually cancelled my Inside Passage Ferry right there in Prince Rupert, not in person as it turned the day I was there was a Canadian holiday, Victoria Day, honoring Queen Victoria. Not unlike Memorial Day it also signifies the beginning of camping season and all the rush out of town!

Everything I did was in a rush! That was unfortunate, also I progressively did not feel well; although I did on my way back obtain a respite. Mason should have been with me. Of all my dogs my little one is the one who takes care of me, I turn the passenger captain seat so he can be safely ensconced with a ready view of everything I do. He knows when I should stop and rest and what I should see, and if I’m overdoing he speaks up. I can’t count the times he’s told me…  here Mom, we get out here in this lovely shade and roll on our backs and soak in the vista, then we go get something to eat!

I’ve promised to post pictures. British Columbia is stunning, I would love to go back and take my time. There are charming towns and endless roads, glaciers, lakes, wildlife, hot springs, harbors, deep forests and soaring mountains, open fields and vistas, relaxed and friendly people, amusement tourist attractions, amazingly perfectly maintained roads, waterfalls, rain and clouds that are a world unto themselves. Traveling fast I was impressed by how easy it was to drive the long distances. I filled the gas tank at half empty and sometimes at quarter empty but it was fine.

Being there before the season, i.e. before June, I’m sure had much influence on my dreamy state of road freedom at least after passing the log jam heading out of Vancouver….  a Californian dreaming of great roads, stunning scenery and no crowds! The odd thing giving away the aura of Canadian peace were all the bars on store windows, little corners of unexpected graffiti, surveillance cameras . .  these seemed so out of place, but I’m sure necessary.

Halcyon Hot Springs: on my walk

Halcyon Hot Springs: on my walk at the end of the day.

The park at Halcyon Hot Springs.

The park at Halcyon Hot Springs.

Halcyon Hot Springs

Halcyon Hot Springs

Halcyon Hot Springs

Halcyon Hot Springs, Enjoying the Green!!!

Stayed in the Halcyon Hot Springs area in Nakusp for a night, not far off Hwy 1. This came about during the above crush of impenetrable vista of bumpers and tail lights leaving me susceptible to little signs like HOT SPRINGS… sinking through glazed eyes like a call from heaven! It would have been great fun to stay longer. Reminded me of the best of being in the late 60s, friendly people, safe, clean, casual with a touch of elegance, but very 2015 with vegan offerings and a very “beachy” feel. I took my first walk in Canada here and I loved it. There was a woman playing a hang drum in the waterfront park who engaged me in conversation and lots of dogs out with their people.  The resort offered private baths at the source but there is nice public pool, mineral water could have been hotter for me, but I enjoyed it. A definite Asian touch permeated. Bring your own towel and save some money. Plenty of RV camps.

 

And enjoying the changing skies. I LOVE clouds!

And enjoying the changing skies. I LOVE clouds!

The next day I bypassed Hope, taking the little shortcut up the canyon on Hwy 7 the Info folks gave me. Landing  back on Hwy 1 / 97 I was drawn to the signs for  Hells Gate in Fraser Canyon on the Gold Rush Trail. This might have been fun especially with kids; 750 million liters of water push through a 33 meter passage with a tram overhead …  on the other side is a fudge factory, ice cream and a suspension bridge…  of note here buy a Groupon discount pass if you want to do things like this as prices are steep.

Taking a look at Hells Gate Air Tram

Taking a look at Hells Gate Air Tram

 

 

 

 

