Loved seeing the rain falling.

Loved seeing the rain falling.

Went down the mountain and what’d I find!  More mountains! Love Canada, nice people and vast expanses.  At first I’d considered a retreat to Seattle, but then it occurred to me to travel the last part of my planned trip ….  it was a straight shot on the map from Prince George to the Rockies and I hadn’t been there in over 46 – 47 years ….  easy-peazy, so that made my decision.

The beautiful roads of BC

The beautiful roads of BC

The day I arrived in Prince Rupert I also left, I drove and drove with some sort of idea that I’d drive forever and I might have but I saw an inconspicuous sign next to a river for an RV Park and curious about the river I turned off the highway. It was a lovely ramshackle place. It didn’t’ seem open but wasn’t completely deserted either. I was encouraged by a motorist camped for the night in an SUV to ask the proprietor if I could stay…  I knocked softly on the door around the corner from the closed office and the most friendly face appeared and said, Yes we’re closed, yes you can stay and yes, it’s free. That was perfect!  (When I find my notes I’ll post the name and the link of the campground.)

A shot from the closed campground!

A shot from the closed campground!

Another view walking around the closed campground

Another view walking around the closed campground

The next day I stopped in McBride to learn about Jasper National Park which was coming up fast.  The weather that day was fun for me, sunny, to deeply cloudy with a touch of thunderstorms. I talked to the Info people…  I often do this, not only is it their job but they have great places to share that one might not otherwise know about. It was recommended to drive around downtown and to visit Horseshoe Lake on off the Fraser River if I liked birds. The lake is visiting ground to waterbirds such as wood ducks, green and blue-winged teals, hooded mergansers, redheads, grebes, falcons and bald eagles in season. No one else was there, it was a lovely spot for a quick lunch.

Horseshoe Lake< McBride

Horseshoe Lake< McBride

View From Horseshoe Lake

View From Horseshoe Lake

No wonder birds love this place.

No wonder birds love this place.

I didn’t take any photos but I was very impressed, amazed at how clean and fresh the little mountain town of McBride, like a picture postcard presented itself. Do people really live in such romantic places? would be very cool to take the train from McBride.

Just over the mountain…  yeah! Another mountain and the gateway to Jasper and Baniff. It’s a bit over 2 hours from McBride to Jasper, 166 kms. I looked for but did not find a camping spot just before crossing into Alberta and so landed in another lightly populated RV camp inside of Jasper Park for the night. I can only imagine how crowded it must get when the season really opens for travelers.

Spotted These Guys near Jasper

Spotted These Guys near Jasper

