I was offered an opportunity to visit Rocky Mountain Buffalo Ranch in Golden, BC. At almost any other time I would have been mesmerized and set my wheels for such a pristine treasure! I’m one of those types that seeks solitude when my mind is heavy. I do surprisingly well alone, I didn’t know the extent of this before I was a “Solo RV’er,” am not immune to lonesomeness but I revel in facing whatever is around the next bend with nothing by my side other than my dogs, my LT and my cell phone.  Being alone  includes accepting invitations and meeting others, but this time it meant no one knowing or paying attention to me, anonymity and slow direction back to my dogs was enough. I do tend to rush. I’d like not to do that. Who’s chasing me? I remember Alan (back in the ’70’s) telling me to slow down, slow down and pay attention, look around. If we hurry through our lives we wont get there any faster but we might fail to notice life waving in our faces, shouting for our attention.

I scouted about for lunch but didn’t find anything until I landed in a grocery store in a town called, Invermere, I think, honestly I wasn’t paying attention. I had a nice meal sitting in the parking lot and went on. I’d stop and take pictures, bunches of them were out of focus so I won’t post them. I passed more hot springs and kept thinking of stopping but I didn’t. You see, it was that kinda day. A friend of mine, a photographer, said I should stop at a ghost town  type place that was right on my way. That didn’t sound like my thing.  Suddenly there it was, Fort Steele. I needed a break and it had a big parking lot so I got out and paid my entrance fee.  I liked it more than I thought. In some of the buildings there are reenactments of history, as this was a living museum, Heritage Town. I half heartily tried to engage in conversation with the shopkeepers and tradesmen, as like most of this trip there were few others around; mostly they wanted to sell me things or recite their rehearsed lines so I started avoiding them except for the dress shop where I learned that my Aunt’s decorated Singer that I inherited can be traced from it’s numbers to it’s manufacturing history. I walked past areas of farming machinery and animals from Clydesdale’s, chickens, goats, turkeys, pigs, sheep and ducks to homes and hotels, cafes, entertainments, banks and even a “modern” dentist of the 1860s. I entertained the idea of trying some borscht but there was no one at the counter.  I would take my dog there, they’d love it.

Fort Steele

School Room

The Jail, funny that bed doesn't look too bad to me.

The Jail, funny that bed doesn’t look too bad to me.

DSC00439

DSC00453

DSC00457

DSC00461

When I arrived in Yahk on Hwy 95 I was so confident I’d be crossing the border that I pulled out my passport and sighed with resignation, wanting to be home but not wanting to leave Canada. I like Canada a lot and am eager to return and see more.  I don’t know what buttons I pushed on that darn Garmin but instead of the border I was led onto another charming forestry road, Hwy 3. Love these slip ups…  the drive was lovely and beautiful!  And you guessed it barely any other traffic. My GPS makes a good friend taking me to places I’d not considered.

I didn’t take photos on Hwy 3 so you’ll have to take my word that it is a stellar road. Best of all it stretched out my time in BC. I plugged in my MP3’s enjoying my music selection for the first time on this drive. My little RV and I doing great.

 

Kat Edmonson – Be The Change

 

