Coeur d'alene Waterfront...  Yeah dogs allowed!

Coeur d’alene Waterfront… Yeah dogs allowed!

Coeur d'alene Waterfront

Coeur d’alene Waterfront

Sandpoint was beautifully atmospheric but maybe Coeur d’alene offered more amenities. Hard to tell on my very quick drive through.

One person thought that since I was in Coeur d’alene I’d head to Spokane. I had specific reasons for not traveling in that direction, I’d been that way some years back; it’d put me in vicinity of a person I have to respect for the distance he and his wife have chosen to keep from his past, not that I’m immune to being lonely but it’s a huge world with billions of people. Most of us only make primary connections with a handful. My handful are mostly gone which leaves my heart open for wisdom, peace and acceptance. One never knows who will enter (or re-enter) one’s circle or who will vanish. As my friend Lee puts it, “it’s fine,” and it is. I’ll be back this way I’m sure in a time when I’ve found my slow-mo and have stopped rushing.

I relish roads I haven’t yet experienced, that’s a big part of the appeal of an RV’s freedom. Point and Drive!

Coeur d'alene

Coeur d’alene downtown area so nice! Older parts of the city is not like this. Be careful of speed strips if you’re in an RV. I had a line of cars behind me.

That said, it was next suggested that I hop on the next train to Montreal.  Long train rides proposed as stress relief?  The Trans-Candian runs through Jasper, then one would need to transfer at Toronto to the Canadian Corridor to reach Montreal. The cost is high and the distance long, then there would be an air flight back, storage for the RV, meals, touring, likely hotels and diversions….  one can’t just sit on a train and be entertained passing county that is no more than a picture out the window, at least I can’t.  If one has a thing for trains, this one would be quite the experience especially with the Prestige Sleeper class package. The regular sleeper senior rate from Jasper to Winnipeg with no add-on stops is around, $1, 44o, then the extension to Montreal. A deluxe package with tours runs around $4,000 – $4,500.  Or one could try a discount run and sleep in their seat for 4 days while crossing 6 time zones. It would be memorable and fun if one did not have dogs to get back to, an already blown budget and in the mood for communal transport.

He’s a link showing one of the trains… oh, great claustrophobic…  yeah, that’s relaxing:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-oB2tGM_35k

Other than something a short funky spectacular train trip, I’d rather drive, camp and take my dogs although I do enjoy B&B’s, upscale lodges, faster cars and out-of-the-way rustic accommodations.

Toot – Toot….  Whoops Honk – Honk!

Another beautiful trail to follow!

Walking on the Trail

Walking on the Trail

Plants on the Trail

Plants on the Trail

Decision time I choose to depart Idaho, I’ve driven the southern section so I headed to Lewiston at the confluence of the Clearwater and Snake rivers on the path of the Lewis and Clark Expedition.

The road ahead

The road ahead

Lewiston, Idaho

18th street Bridge, Lewiston, Idaho across Clearwater River.

Lewiston, Idaho

Lewiston, Idaho

Are green salads popular in Northwest Idaho? Chicken seems to be popular and potato and pasta salads. I searched around for a salad bar even at the Natural Grocer; settled for chicken.

Lewiston, Idaho

A park in Lewiston, Idaho. No Animals this time, but they only picture a cute little dog 😦 Wonder who hands out tickets to the birds and squirrels?

On The Road Again

On The Road Again

Umatilla

Sundown at my camping spot for the night on the Columbia River at Umatilla.

 

Alabama – 02 Ride The Train

 

 

