I was mellowing on the coast of Washington, the anxiety and depression that plagued me with the near decade of losses and trials were being eviscerated by wind, rain, sun, the sea from bluffs, sand dunes and lively beaches; the antics of birds, rabbits, deer, elk, squirrels, muskrats, otters, dense rainforest, wildflowers all over with butterflies and dragonflies, grassy lakes; encounters with folks loving the dogs.  It felt good to be active the entire day, fixing things, mending a paw, taking out stickers, going shopping for food…  and yes, I do think the dogs wonder about these solo hunting excursions and what will I bring back, going places, driving, hiking, untangling leashes, sweeping away the sand and filling the water bowl. There was a cougar around, kept seeing the posting, but we never saw him. The wild berries were not ready but the trees looked vibrant: spruce, hemlock, firs, cedar, alder, yew and pines. The summer rainforest rain is a soft plink. You can walk in it and not get very wet. Ferns and grasses mix with lichens and mushrooms, herbs and mosses and other berries and plants I don’t know the names of.  There are big birds like  eagles, osprey, hawks, herons and ravens, geese and swans,  and of course little things like banana slugs, I was always taking those off the dogs and spiders, and frogs we could hear but not see.

20160609_092501a

Taken at Beach 4, just after the road construction. Slightly drizzly no one there but me and the dogs 🙂 Just perfect. tidepools at the beach.

20160609_092626a

 

20160609_092710a

20160609_092816a

20160608_184459a

Red Berries, like a Toyon, does that grow here?

20160609_092839 20160609_092911

I came upon a group of young eagles perched at water’s edge, I could not understand what they were. I wasn’t thinking about eagles in June, the birds were so large I was shocked, they took off rather placatingly, making no effort; it was only later hearing others talking about the all the eagles hanging around that I got it, and there was a posting about them too. I had a few moments wishing they would ignore me and the dogs but of course being birds they like to go up into the air. It was later in the trip that I saw them. Drove around Kalaloch Lodge and Beaches by number, adored Beach 4, just after the road construction. Was slighly drizzly in the rainforest and no one there, just me and the dogs, perfect, tidepools at the beach.  Finally reached the little town of Forks which wasn’t how I pictured it’d be, from there I took the road west to La Push at the mouth of the Quileute River.  I stopped at a little coop, West Co Op on the way, wanted to buy something, but they didn’t even have bananas or apples, no carob malt balls, nothing I could use.

There’s some hotels/ resorts in La Push, a marina that did not draw me in. There was trash left on the ground at the beach stops and lots of sharp gravel which Mason hates. We walked a bit, I carried him a bit.  Jackson was super happy to be out of the RV again but I wouldn’t let him swim, I didn’t see any other dogs. Three Rivers Resort did not impress me, perhaps if I’d come to fish. It was a bit stark. I went so far as to drive around and choose a space before I left. Second Beach I thought more inviting by far than First Beach  with its lovely and scruffy folks that might or might not have been more friendly or more interested in seeing what was inside my RV.  The parking area at Second Beach was jammed packed and to me, seemed also not on the safe side, at least on that day plus it takes a good hike to the water.  I wasn’t sure if it was a dog okay beach or not, I passed it by wanting another gorgeous and less used spot that the dogs could run on; I was already spoiled.

20160609_120601a 20160609_120638a

I backtracked and headed to other side to Rialto Beach, lovely and scenic, but still I wasn’t so sure about the dogs. we walked around on leash and then I took off.  There were a lot of tourist. Mora campground near Rialto Beach seemed really nice but for me too dark; beautiful forest but no open vistas.   I want to see a landscape or better, water, a harbor, a lake, a river; sure I love trees but it’s dark under there. I want to stretch my eyes and look faraway, I want a view, and light, the natural kind from stars and sunsets, from tress swaying and making shadows.  I thought about staying there and then imaged the night, walking around and then returning to my very dark spot in the woods and I went on. It was no problem since I was getting up so early and with the sun in the sky so long the days were endless. I figured I’d find a place in Forks, ah, well no, well ok then I pushed on and took the road to Cape Flattery. You see I had this idea that I’d camp by early afternoon and play with my dogs, maybe read a book…ha, not me. I would have made an excellent explorer but not so good at staying put. Teaching ‘stay’ is very difficult for the dogs, me too apparently.

20160609_125606a

This the parking lot for the cars. Lots of people there, I’m parked further away in the RV lot which was nearly empty. I had to carry Mason as the RV parking is in a sharp gravely and uneven spot.

20160609_130142a

Rialto Beach, Washington

20160609_125937a

Neah Bay made me want to stop and plant myself right there, could take in this view for the rest of my days but of course there were no turnouts or anything like that where I could take a picture and worse I went over one of the bumpy / vibrating things in the road, I hate those things!  Both pups took to terrified shaking and panting, but you have to cross over those stupid things. All I could do was stall my RV taking up a big space in the road until a car showed up and at the same time I was trying to calm down and comfort the dogs.  Wish I could show you how beautiful it was, you’ll have to use your imagination.

20160609_162323a

On the Cape Flattery Trail. It was raining in one spot and dry in another.

20160609_163404

I don’t know why these photos don’t stay full size. I’m posting them that way but they shrink??? Lagotti on a bench.

Mason was worn out by the time we arrived at the Cape Flattery trail so the pups and I did the hike while he took a nap. It was already a long day. The trail was so cool. A bunch of walking sticks crafted by a Malkah Indian artist were placed by the trailhead, you could take one and return it on your way back or if you wanted to keep it then you could donate $5. I grabbed a short one having some experience with walking canes, too long is not good. Dogs welcome on the trail … yeah! It was one of those places where you see almost no one on the road but once you arrive all kinds of people are there. All ages of people including an elderly petite lady having a bit of trouble but determined. I walked past her responding of course to her nice comments about my dogs, later I passed the rest of her family, passed them twice actually, it was on the way back they asked me to tell her to sit down and wait for them as they thought the trail would be too much for her, when I ran into her I told her what they said, but I added that I thought she should go on, it wasn’t much further and the view, OMG, the view!  She could make it, she agreed and off she went. Heck I was having pain in my both my feet, on the bottoms, my TO (Thoracic Outlet Syndrome) was acting up and my GERD which was giving stomach and shoulder and chest pain and I made it.  My dogs were not understanding the leash thing, they often don’t get that. They did tug me uphill however; others were huffing and puffing I had my 8-legged engine. I don’t worry too much about things except for my dogs. I’ve done enough worry already in this lifetime to last for several lifetimes so I can take a break from that. I needed to get back without too much delay since Mason was in the RV on his own, that and the fact that I knew there was no place nearly to camp that I liked and pulling over on the road was not a possibility.

20160609_162450a

20160609_162210a

Cape Flattery… it was raining but absolutely radiant.

20160609_162332a

Cape Flattery, Washington

Cape Flattery is the northernmost point in the US. Forrest would absolutely have wanted to be in this place. The views are stunning, it’s wet and cool and sunshiny and sparkling, much of the trail is on cedar boardwalk, you’ll see the  Pacific Ocean and the Strait of Juan de Fuca.  Not knowing where the trail led added to the excitement. I didn’t see any whales, but that was fine.

 

I’d checked out Hobuck Beach Resort and several others before taking the road to Flattery and rejected them. I wanted to be on the water. So I headed back the road I’d come up wondering where I would go?  Maybe Port Angeles?  Turns out instead I opted for the small town of Sekiu on Clallam Bay, a saltwater river, I’d passed the area earlier in the day and had wondered what was down the road. Yeah, a harbor!  I decided after first picking the lower RV park to take the one up on the hill…  Mason’s Resort! Mason Olson’s Resort.  It overlooked the harbor, the docks, the seawall, a little beach, it was cool. The office when I found it, took me like 20 min to figure out where it was, was closed. They’d been watching me tool around, funny people, when I called the number on the office door that I finally found they came right out and collected my money. Lots of daylight left for walking in the rain….  walked and walked and walked as if I hadn’t been walking all day.  I love the rain, this kind of summer rain, feels so good. Took the pups all over while Mason waited all warm and comfy in the van, then we had a late dinner. Darn blasted lights were so intensely bright at the harbor I had to put up the black out curtains, was bummed not to be able to peek out through the night and fall asleep to the moon poking from the clouds. Isn’t sleep supposed to be important?  Some places, like this place seem to insist that night is another form of daylight where shops and services are closed but there must be so much light that don’t know it’s night time. Maybe the ghosts come out if it gets dark?  You have to wait until morning before it darkens down. I was  miffed about it as when I talked to the owners I mentioned that I rejected the lower RV Park as it was directly under bright night lights and I had trouble with that; they insisted that they only had a few decorative lights in their harbor buildings to make it look sparkly and fun.  I paid for a full site, that meant, water, power and sewage; my site had no water and no sewage and no wi-fi that they said was free and available. I don’t like it when people lie while being all friendly and looking you right in the eye. They were quick to take my money and it wasn’t’ cheap. I paid in cash so they wouldn’t have to open their shop which they opened anyway to get me the wi-fi passcode (that’s right, the one that didn’t work.) The shower in the bath house the next morning was so cold I left shivering.

20160609_184545a

Sekiu, Washington. Halibut, rockfish, blackmouth salmon, coho salmon and Chinook.

20160609_184555a

20160609_184729a

Can you see my little one there. Most of these folks are here to fish. Next time would be better to get a spot further up on the hill, that would be nice.

I didn’t sleep much that night, falling asleep late struggling with the overly bright lights, then Jackson woke me up 3 times being sick. I gave him a stomach pill and hoped he’d be feeling better in the morning. Come morning all 4 of us walked all around again. I dug the view and the fishing boating ambience but the town was small and nothing to keep me there and nothing to eat, nothing open when I woke around 5:30 am, not being into fishing or boating, it was time to move on.

 

 

 

 

