Here's another shot of Sekiu

Here’s another shot of Sekiu

And Another, looking out form Seiku

And Another, looking out from Seiku

Love it here. Yep, a harbor/marina at Point Hudson (Port Townsend.) It’s changed since my last visit, larger now. Stayed a few nights, one, dry camped by the restaurants close to the marina, then I moved over to the second row on the grassy waterfront … could have moved to the front row if I’d wanted to stay. The weekends get crowded, Port Townsend has special events all summer. I arrived Fri and Sat was sold out but there was an early morning cancellation.

Somewhere I stopped on the road for a walk.

I took the long way from Sekiu to Port Angeles, at first I didn’t think it was as scenic as touted but then suddenly wow was it! Jumped on 101 and drove to Sol Duc Hot Springs, that road was especially curvy and poor Jackson was having a fit. Occasionally he would get Jeana all upset as well; Mason remained unflappable….  he’s experienced, funny road noises, bumps and tight curves don’t bother him, my little 15 pound fearless one! I swaddled Jackson, cramming him between the 2 captain chairs. He was close to me that way and could not move. I rammed him in with pillows and the swaddling. He was like a locomotion with his heavy panting. It made me feel bad except as soon as we stopped he was all wild, bouncy happy so I figured his stress while we were moving was harder on me than it was on him. I was driving like the eggshell between my foot and the pedal and very slowly, trying with all my might to get my 7,800 pound LT not to sway, shake or rumble. Not easy as the steering was still weird and the road pitted and rough. I walked all 3 of the dogs on whatever paved area I could find at Sol Duc; it was very un-dog friendly. You couldn’t walk a dog on the big grassy play area that was a bit littered with human borne trash or on the paved trail. I stowed them back in the RV and walked around the resort, looked at the pools imaging how it’d feel to soak in hot water and finally decided I didn’t need a $14 bath. Took the road out, it was a free road with my Senior Federal Park Pass, that’s when the real magic happened. As 101 turned the bend beauty popped up in another of her stunning displays of water and rainforest.

Dig these trees!

Dig these trees!

The dogs and I explored Lake Sunderland …  sockeye salmon and trout. Olympic National Park Fairholme Campground is on the lake for tents and RVs 21 feet or less. Rainforest, old growth forest and the lake. Lots of families in tents. The plant growth was amazing. I snapped a ton of photos with my phone to use for colored pencil drawing ideas and for fused glass. Clear water for the dogs to play in.

20160610_115638a

20160610_120040a

20160610_120308a

Rainforest trees

Rainforest trees

I considered staying except for two problems,  it appeared to be full and I knew I’d have soaking wet dogs. I packed a hair dryer but had already discovered the power inverter a friend lent me was not working. No power out there in the forest and it was cold already. For those of you that don’t have water dogs but non-water types like my Mason who happily stays dry, water dogs watch for the shortest distance between where they are and water before you can blink they are wet!

20160610_114529lake

A little bit of Lake Sunderland.

Decided to spend the night in Port Angeles however when I arrived I discovered it was graduation weekend and the town was packed! Lots of traffic but a fun little town. I was warned due to graduation that if I wanted to take a ferry I should do so immediately or be prepared to wait until Tue. The graduation thing had me worried about finding a spot in Port Townsend as it was I was lucky getting the very last space. On the way to Port Townsend I checked out a few county parks and campgrounds, when I got back on the freeway as it was getting into early evening  there was a sudden red light swerving and screeching including me, my LT almost didn’t stop in time!  I swerved into the next lane since it was empty avoiding any secondary accident. Traffic jammed as we waited, ambulance, fire truck, police went by, then we were rerouted.  All this did not make my dogs happy nor me. All the money spent on fixing the brakes, I was trembling and the dogs were very quiet, that was too close a call. When I was able I stopped and picked up the items that had slid and fallen, re-closed the frig door.

20160610_174733a

20160611_083410a

 

I had a blast in Port Townsend. Walked downtown with all the wooden boats, Victorian architecture, some actors doing a show all had to pet and coo over the dogs, lots of street art and happy milieu.

20160611_083822a

20160611_083803a

Early morning in Port Townsend.

20160611_082201a

20160610_174746a

20160610_175206a

20160610_180138_001a

I’m camped way off in the back, on the right side behind this marina.

20160610_181350a

Yep, this was mine, and then they moved me to the other side.

20160610_195146a

 

20160611_181336a

Folks waiting for the Port Townsend ferry.

Heck if you don't like boats you won't like Port townsend. LOL

Heck if you don’t like boats you won’t like Port townsend. LOL

Around the corner from my camping harbor.

Around the corner from my camping harbor.

 

Walked down to the wetlands lagoon, then explored further of the area than I had in the past with stops at the co-op and driving tour of parks, beaches, historical visits and local neighborhoods.

20160611_115514a

But MOM!!!! Those guys are swimming!

20160611_114111a

20160611_114255a

20160611_114153a

20160611_114159a

20160611_130520a

20160611_131510(0)a

20160611_131650ab

Mason the gunner!

20160611_135440a

The lighthouse at Fort Worden. You have to walk to get close. We did so by climbing up from the rocky beach.

After several days I moved over to Fort Worden.  The ocean campground was posted as full but I’d seen empty spaces so waited in line at registration and was given a great curved pull through spot,sheltered from the wind. Folks were in line to register for next year! The couple in front of me said they did this every year, staying as long as they could then heading to the Oregon coast, esp this year with nearly 120 deg weather in Arizona where they lived. It was easy to forget the record-breaking heat in the Southwest, early arctic melting, Death Valley hitting 129 degs in June; India has been sweltering, Tunisia, Argentina, Russia…  what will July and August bring?  The Pacific Northwest is not drought free and where I live in Southern California the drought continues to worsen.

20160611_135548a

BEACH…. this way…. Campground right on the other side.

20160612_150733

20160612_161443

20160612_164042

Fort Warden encompasses 434 acres with 100 historic structures and 2 miles of saltwater shoreline with views of the Olympic and Cascade Mountains, and the San Juan Islands. It took awhile including asking 3 times for directions with several loops of  the park to find registration, as with much of Washington wayfinding is presented as more of a labyrinth puzzle than simple path. The time after the park closes to visitors for the night was the time I cherished the most, walking with vigour from one end to the other, on and on to the lighthouse over the rocky shoreline and up into the forested area with a second campground, classrooms and schools, conference center, ball fields, tennis courts, kayaking, boat ramps, marine center, visitor accommodations, and at least one museum. Again, I was lucky finding a space, the next night the park was filled. My camping neighbors in an 1988 Southwind invited me over, seemed we had a lot in common. As soon as I walked into their rig I was awed by how big, roomy and comfy it was!  Had a great time chatting about everything from the climate, politics, healthy stuff to eat, bookstores and co-ops, cool places to take your RV, getting the right size RV  (not too big, not too little) and more! My dogs were good, they stayed in my van. I was to see them again in Olympia where they live.

20160612_202604

Evening time and the pier is quiet.

 

20160611_135709a

 

 

There are six Forts which guarded Puget Sound; Fort Worden, Fort Flagler and Fort Casey (on Whidbey Island) made up the “Triangle of Fire,” at Admiralty Inlet. I learned this from my new friends. The Forts were built in the late 1890s to modernize seacoast fortifications and upgraded in the 1940s. We had a sudden view of Mt Rainier with it’s snowy peak, it stayed with us for awhile and then disappeared.

20160611_130912a

This post is getting longer than I thought it would so I’ll finish it next time…  (More Port Townsend to come)  missing a few photos as well, maybe they will show up?  Sorry for typos, I will fix them as I notice them, but no time to edit right now.

