Tom Sawyer RV Park on the Mississippi River.  The park is large, this is just a piece of it, I’m parked out there with the big guys.

New Friends! They have a 2001 Great West on the same Dodge 3500 van.  I also spotted another same-vintage Dodge Leisure Travel and a Roadtrek in the campground. A potentially damaging storm is on the way so we are all deciding what to do and which way to go. The storm is predicted to hit Little Rock the hardest. My new friends decided to alter their plans about staying there the next night and instead head a little north.  This campground could become very muddy and mucky as it’s surrounded by the river.  Very much enjoyed the campground, it’s quiet with lots of walking and river vistas, I asked for the most scenic spot they had left and was given a space way out on the spit. I arrived early, before noon without a reservation, they were soon completely filled. I think it was fairly hot.

Memphis Riverfront:  Beautiful views, sculptures,  city and river overviews, great walking with the dogs.

Met another traveler here with a 1997 LTV! Almost twins 🙂

Driving Around… lots to see. Memphis is a huge city with lots of differing districts. Birthplace of the blues, soul and rock n’roll.

Beale Street Entertainment District… so quiet in the early morning!

Yep, Elvis is afoot!

ELVIS LIVES! Tours can be costly with parking an additional $10. Was not thrilled to find no shade or air-conditioned kennels in the paid parking area. I elected not to do the tour mostly as I felt it was too hot and humid to leave the dogs.  It would be probably be fun esp since I was there; however the cheap tour likley not so much, you’d probably want to do the Elvis Entourage VIP + Airplane Tour, but that’s nearly $100; maybe you could do the Elvis Experience Tour for $62 they sure have a slew of choices.  The generator on my rig is not working, but even so the lack of  shade was a deterrent….  there were a few spots with shade but they were filled.  The day was unseasonably hot. Walked all around the outer buildings, gift shops, soda fountains, candy store, etc.

 

Lots of people love this place. Just be prepared with plenty of cash.

I spent 2 nights in Memphis, nowhere near enough time to take in the music and art scene. Wound up crossing all over town taking care of errands, seeing a few museums and taking care of some simple repairs. Second night I spent at the State Park on storm watch! As the humidity and temperature increased so did my worry!

A pretty little lake park. almost no one was here. Hot storm slowly moving in.

 

