The wind lessened allowing a nice drive through Arkansas.  The Info guide had told me I’d be passing though a cross-section of countryside and towns, some prosperous, some not and then I would reach the Ozarks. I had a fantasy of heading north through Missouri until reaching the turn for Denver / Boulder and crossing the Rockies over I-70.  Like I said a fantasy, comes from living in Coastal CA too long, heck my old camper-van can double as nice sporty ski car or a trusty SUV, right? It was late March, barely April, that’s winter in the mountains; nevertheless heading north afforded adventure. It was a dark day, beautiful, green, flowery, lush with tall trees, rivers and lakes, lots more butterflies, brightly colored birds and pockets of sunshine.

A town on the way

Another town,. . . needs some paint.

This was in Hardy towards the end of the downtown district. Lots of shops, restaurants, historical areas and more…  sorry didn’t take many photos. Took a nice walk with the dogs.

Yep.

Hardy Arkansas   Started as railroad construction camp in 1884  . . . The little town of Hardy, AR boasts three museums, summer musical shows, bed and breakfast inns and several festivals each year. Cherokee Village, the state’s first resort/retirement settlement, is just southwest of town, offering lake activities and two championship golf courses.

I didn’t take enough pictures to show the charm of this little town and surrounding areas. I could image it being very crowded and lively later in the season.

From their website: Art & Artisans, BINGO, Canoeing, Cultural Heritage, Fishing, Floating, Hunting, Wildlife, Kayaking, Music, Fish Hatchery & Aquatic Center, Parks, RV Camping, Dining, Lodging, Shopping, Zip Line, Spring River Artist Guild, Festivals, Events & Retirement.

The campground at Hardy. Was only one camper in a rather spacious riverside campground.  I thought about staying, went exploring looking for the section of lake area retirement homes. I’d met a woman, a bit my senior in a downtown cafe who told me how much she loved living here. She explained how she’d lived in Coastal Oregon and in Colorado but returned to Arkansas in spite of her grown kids request to have her closer. Living was easy, not complicated, she told me, safe for women on their own; a place to enjoy rather than struggle. She truly loved living here, was happy near one of the lakes, and although we didn’t know one another, she encouraged me to check it out. That it was a better life here.  She wouldn’t be the only, on her own, mature single woman to tell me similar about Northern Arkansas.

 

 

Gonna post this while I figure out the next photos and time.  The Ozarks out in Arkansas were so lovely!

