The museum is built around and above water with view points that bring nature inside. The exhibit are in pods and you walk from one to the next in a circle with views of nature and water as you pass through.

 

Eleven, at Crystal Bridges. Ate at both the coffee bar and the restaurant. Had a cap and sweet goodie, then when I was ready to leave, a trout club sandwich. Yummy!

Susan Catherine Waters, 1855-1860. Portrait of a girl and her dog in a grape arbor.  Self taught in a time of male dominated art. Women’s suffrage movement and an animal right’s activist. 

Randolph Rogers 1825-1892 Atala and Chactas

Francis Guy 1760-1820 Winter Scene in Brooklyn

Asher B. Durand 1796-1886 Kindred Spirits 1849. Memorial to Thomas Cole, Catskill Mountains.

Frederic Edwin Church 1826-1900. Home by the Lake, 1852 Optimistic view of America’s future.

George Inness 1825-1894. Sunset on the River, 1867.

 

Frederic Remington 1861-1909 Cowpuncher’s Lullaby, 1906

Stuart Davis 1892-1964. Still Live with Flowers, 1930.

William Hunt Diederich 1884-1953. Greyhounds 1913. Bronze.

Yasuo Kuniyoshi 1889-1953. Little Joe with Cow, 1923. Japanese born American artist.

Grace Hartigan 1922-2008. Rough, Ain’t it, 1949.

These are a few of the pieces I photographed as a sampling of the range and quality of American Art represented at Crystal Bridges. Good thing I don’t live closer or I’d be rooted; likely doing duty as one of the volunteers and sketching till I’d mastered each piece. Have been taking an Adult Ed course on American Art in Santa Barbara so, if you’re into art, maybe you can image my thrill to see some of these pieces in person and if not, just know that art hold a precious place in my world as a method of direct and subterfuge communication of both the tangible and intangible, perceived and visionary, representative, political or imagined and twisted nature of our lives.

Cool Stuff! In the Gift Shop.

More in the Gift Shop.

Hard to leave but the dogs are waiting! Wind and rain was picking up, so one last walk and off we went. As I take my last walk I think more about how art, culture, music, brings a cultural bubbling, like a spring itself, mixing, unsettling, stirring…  I saw cars from New York, Texas, Oklahoma, Nebraska, Colorado, Arkansas, Missouri, Wyoming, Ohio and me from California in the small upper parking lot on that random morning when I stumbled in.

Another walk with dogs.

