Thompson Dog Park, Amarillo Texas.  Discovered this off leash dog park as I was wandering the neighborhoods of Amarillo, it’s located within a much larger park. Was super cold and windy so no one was there.  This might have been a good thing as I’ve read unfavorable reviews of crowds and trash. Wonderful park for us! Clean, Texas style big for long long runs and happy sniffing, green and it had a pond.  I did keep diverting the Lagotto’s attention from the water; far too cold for wet dogs.

A so-so night at Amarillo Ranch RV Park. They at first assigned me what could have been the worst site in the park which fortunately they let me change. I don’ know exactly why but it happens with some frequency that I as a woman RV’er alone am shunted into some of the worst spaces in RV Parks. Do they think they have to put me near the bathroom with the lights and people going back and forth or the entrance with lots of traffic, or in their worst space that no “single male” or couple or family would accept?  I do wonder.  Frankly the first space I was assigned should not be a camping spot at all as it was on a busy intersection surrounded with foxtails, bight lights and smack on top of the neighbors in front and to the side; kinda leftover  bit of land that some wise ass said, hey we can put another one in there.  That’s revenue!. I did notice that while they put out the No Vacancy sign they never put anyone in that site. To further this aggravation a single MALE in a 22 foot Sprinter showed up while I was going through the process of being switched which took quite some time; he did not have a reservation either and arrived at nearly an hour after I had,  yet somehow they found him a nice site. What, the park wasn’t full for him?!?! They didn’t put him in my vacated miserable joke of a site?!?!  You can tell I didn’t leave this Park a great review. It was not my style, noisy, crowded, strange layout, but in spite of the super-fierce wind I slept well. The park offered limo trips to the Big Texan Steak Ranch, my Canadian neighbors tried it with the comment, ”it was interesting,” BIG steak. Beef town. They (a mature couple and a cute little dog) in an upscale Class A were using my park site table (the one which should have been mine) since their outdoor TV and entertainment bar was on their opposite side (and they wanted to take up both sides, one for her and one for him I guess) which left me no room.  (They were supposed to use the table on their camp side.) Didn’t matter as it soon started RAINING with the wind and thunder, rock & rolling our rigs so after discussing treacherous driving conditions we all retreated.  Oh that was another reason I wasn’t fond of this place, I asked the ladies who staffed the park for the forecast, and , well, no, they didn’t know anything. Nope, not a clue. REALLY!  After about 10 min one of them gave me the local news station so I could listen to it in the privacy of my RV. Shush… everyone the weather is a SECRET!

Amateur art galleries on Route 66..  artist occupied.

I called ahead and reserved a different RV Park, Oasis, for the next night as  Amarillo was on snow watch! Up ahead was already a blizzard.

On the Route 66 section of town I found something open, it was still very early even after the dog park, comes from waking up at 5 am. Found a mall type building full of amateur galleries occupied on the availability of the artist. I visited the first one open owned by a woman who was married to the curator in charge of the Amarillo Art Museum. She told me how the City of Memphis, I think the Dixon Garden and Museum where the museum had been closed, maybe they were rehanging the pieces, had loaned works from Monet, Degas, Renoir, Sisley, Matisse, Cézanne to the little town of Amarillo. She was very proud of it so of course even though that show had closed I had to check out the museum.

Amarillo Museum of Art.  Dr. and Mrs. William T. Price of Amarillo Asian Art Collection.

It was raining. I love rain. Love exploring. I parked in the student parking lot. According to directions if you’re visiting the museum you do not need a parking sticker on your vehicle. I looked around for the pay machine; what I thought the parking sign said could not be right but there was no way to pay for a parking spot. Logically that meant I could not park there. In California if you can’t pay, it’s no problem you will be given a $50 parking ticket or possibly booted and towed. I closed up the van, lowered the blinds and cracked the windows for the dogs and happily immersed myself in the cool wet windy environs enjoying the sound my shoes made on the wet asphalt and then the brick stairs. I asked if I could park in the lot across the way, Oh yes, I was told as long as I was visiting the gallery, no problem. I stopped myself from asking how it would be determined that the owner of any given vehicle sans parking sticker was in the gallery or not. I did not see a spy.

 

Texas Panhandle Sunrise

Am running short of time and likely won’t have wifi again for a bit so will have to label the art work later (if anyone checks back) and tell the great story I heard about the Texas Rancher and his daughter who made the Amarillo Art Museum so special….  more wonderful American Art along with international offerings. Suffice to say that although it did not snow with the wind chill factor it was in the low 20’s and biting. the cold came in through the door seams, I had to stuff them and cover them over even with both my little electric heater and the propane heater it was still chilly, but enough to be comfortable especially with a nice hot Tex-Mex fish plate. Going outside for walks!  That was another story but by morning the storm had cleared….  nothing left but the WIND!

 

….  So may be a delay before the end of this journey is posted…  Off on the road again.

